John Harbison: The Rewaking

$13.99 (1+BTN*)

The Rewaking, commissioned by the Pittsburgh Chamber Music Society for Benita Valente and the Juilliard String Quartet, is a setting of four poems by William Carlos Williams, all from his last years (1956–1961). The texts are used by kind permission of New Directions Publishing.

Composer: John Harbison John Harbison John Harbison John Harbison John Harbison John Harbison

Performing artists: Lydian Quartet Dominique LaBelle Rhonda Ryder Mary Ruth Ray Judith Eisenberg Daniel Stepner

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »

Reviews: New York TimesBoston Globe

Release date: July 15, 2001

694 in stock

SKU: mo0110 UPC: 801890011028
Categories: , ,


Track Listing:

Disc 1
1 String Quartet #3 (1993)
2 Fantasia on a Ground (1993)

The Rewaking (1991)* with Dominique Labelle, soprano
3 The Woodthrush
4 To a Woodpecker
5 The Lady Speaks
6 The Rewaking

7 Thanks Victor (1994) 5:58

Disc 2
1 about String Quartet no. 3 (1993)
2 about Fantasia on a Ground (1993)
3 aboutfantasies and grounds
4 further thoughts on Fantasia on a Ground

about The Rewaking (1991)
5 Introduction
6 First movement: The Woodthrush
7 Second movement: To a Woodpecker
8 Third movement: The Lady Speaks
9 Fourth movement: The Rewaking
10 further thoughts on The Rewaking

11 about Thanks Victor (1994) 3:00

John Harbison
The Rewaking

The Lydian String Quartet
Daniel Stepner, violin
Judith Eissenberg, violin
Mary Ruth Ray, viola
Rhonda Rider, violoncello

Configuration: 2CD set
Available: Now
Recorded: March 2001
Booklet: 20-page, full color. Program notes by John Harbison, Daniel Stepner and Joel Gordon
• World première recording
• Works by leading contemporary American composer John Harbison
• Spoken-word introduction CD by the composer
• Superb recording, production and packaging

John Harbison: The Rewaking was last modified: March 10th, 2021 by moadmin