Chiara Margarita Cozzolani: Salmi a Otto Voci Concertati, Venice 1650

$17.99 (2CD)

World Première Recordings of the complete surviving works

Over the last twenty years, performances and scholarship have given us some idea of the remarkable musical world of cloistered nuns in early modern Italy. Magnificat’s recording of the complete 1650 publication by one such nun, Chiara Margarita Cozzolani (1602-c.1677), testifies to both her own musical creativity and to the high skills of the musicians in her Benedictine house of Santa Radegonda in Milan.

Composer: Chiara Margarita Cozzolani Chiara Margarita Cozzolani

Performing artists: Magnificat Warren Stewart

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »

Reviews: Early

Release date: June 10, 2010

749 in stock

SKU: mo0401 UPC: 801890040127
Categories: , , ,


Track listing:

CD 1
1 Deus in adiutorium
2 Dixit Dominus
3 Confitebor tibi Domine
4 Beatus vir
5 Laudate pueri primo
6 Lætatus sum
7 Nisi Dominus
8 Magnificat primo
9 Magnificat secondo

CD 2
1 Laudate pueri secondo
2 Laudate Dominum omnes gentes
3 O quam bonus es
4 Venimus in altitudinem maris
5 Quis audivit unquam tale?
6 Venite sodales
7 Gloria in Altissimis
8 Maria Magdalene stabat
9 Tu dulcis, ò bone Iesu
10 O Cæli cives

Complete Works, vol. 1

Warren Stewart, artistic director

Configuration: 2 CD set
Available: June 7, 2010
Recorded: 2000-2002
Booklet: 32 Page
• World premiere recording
• Vol. 1 of complete works by a major, unknown, woman composer
• Performance recreates Cozzolani’s own performances with women’s voices
• Magnificat ensemble is one of America’s leading specialist ensembles for 17th century Italian Baroque music
• Notes by leading Cozzolani discoverer and researcher, Robert L. Kendrick

Chiara Margarita Cozzolani: Salmi a Otto Voci Concertati, Venice 1650 was last modified: May 21st, 2021 by moadmin