Chiara Margarita Cozzolani: Christmas Vespers – Digital Download

$12.99 (Digital Download)

World Première Recordings of the complete surviving works
Chiara Margarita Cozzolani (1602-1677) was one of the most original composers of 17th century Italy, worthy to keep company with her male brethren, Monteverdi, Carissimi and Cavalli. This joyous Christmas release presents some of her finest music in memorable performances by San Francisco’s specialist ensemble

Composer: Chiara Margarita Cozzolani

Performing artists: Magnificat

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »


Release date: December 15, 2001


Track Listing:

Disc 1
1 Versiculus et Responsorium: Deus in adiutorium**
2 1. Antiphona: Missus est
3 Psalm 109: Dixit Dominus**
4 in loco 1. Antiphona: Concinant linguæ*
5 2. Antiphona: Ave Maria
6 Psalm 112: Laudate pueri primo**
7 in loco 2. Antiphona: O quam bonus es**
8 3. Antiphona: Ne timeas
9 Psalm 121: Lætatus sum**
10 in loco 3. Antiphona: Venimus in altitudinem maris**
11 4. Antiphona: Dabit ei Dominus
12 Psalm 126: Nisi Dominus**
13 in loco 4. Antiphona: O gloriosa domina*

Disc 2
1 Capitulum: Isaiah 7:14–15
2 Responsorium breve: Angelus Domini
3 Hymnus: Ave maris stella***
4 Antiphona ad Magnificat: Gabriel Angelus
5 Magnificat primo**
6 in loco Antiphona ad Magnificat: Quid, miseri, quid faciamus?*
7 Collecta
8 Benedicamus Domino
9 in loco Deo Gratias: Surgamus omnes*
10 Versiculus et Responsorium: Fidelium animæ

DISC 3* (Beyond the Notes)
SALMI BIZARRI: Cozzolani and the music of Milanese convents with Warren Stewart

Recognized during her lifetime as one of the finest composers in Italy, Chiara Margarita Cozzolani spent her
entire adult life within the walls of the musically famous convent of Santa Radegonda in Milan. Contemporary
accounts describe the huge crowds that filled the exterior church of the convent to hear the angelic voices
of nuns singing Cozzolani’s passionate and ecstatic music. Magnificat artistic director Warren Stewart
discusses the imagination and spiritual intensity reflected in Cozzolani’s music, and the extraordinary
circumstances in which it was composed and performed.

Chiara Margarita Cozzolani
Vespro della Beata Vergine
Second Vespers for the Feast of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin

Warren Stewart, artistic director

Configuration: Digital Download (320 kbps MP3)
Available: Now
Recorded: Aug. 2000, Jan & Aug 2001
Booklet: 24-page booklet Comprehensive program notes by scholar Robert Kendrick
• World première recording: first in a complete series of Cozzolani’s music
• Angelic, yet virtuosic sounds of eight women singers
• Faithful and compelling recreation of 17th C. vespers
• Notes by leading Cozzolani scholar, Robert Kendrick
• Three CDs including almost 100 minutes of music

Chiara Margarita Cozzolani: Christmas Vespers – Digital Download was last modified: December 16th, 2016 by Burke Thompson