J.S. Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, BWV1001 – 1006

$17.99 (2CD)

Bach’s three Sonatas and three Partitas for solo violin (BWV 1001– 1006) represent the pinnacle of the solo violin repertoire. Long considered a challenge for modern violinists, they have especially benefited from the re-awakening of interest in the Baroque violin and contemporary performance practices. Here, the distinguished Australian violinist, Stanley Ritchie, provides benchmark performances of these masterpieces on an original 1670 instrument by Bach’s personal favourite violin maker, Jacob Stainer.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Performing artists: Stanley Ritchie

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »

Reviews: Amazon

Release date: September 13, 2013

331 in stock

SKU: mo0503 UPC: 801890050324
Categories: ,


Track Listing:

CD 1
Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001
1 Adagio
2 Fuga (Allegro)
3 Siciliana
4 Presto

Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002
5 Allemande – Double
6 Courante – Double (Presto)
7 Sarabande – Double
8 Tempo di Borea – Double

Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003
9 Grave
10 Fuga
11 Andante

CD 2
Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004
1 Allemanda
2 Corrente
3 Sarabanda
4 Giga
5 Ciaccona

Sonata No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1005
6 Adagio
7 Fuga
8 Largo
9 Allegro assai

Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006
10 Preludio
11 Loure
12 Gavotte en Rondeau
13 Menuets I-II-III
14 Bourrée
15 Gigue

Johann Sebastian Bach
Sei solo á Violino senza
Basso accompagnato

Stanley Ritchie, violin

Configuration: 2 CD set
Available: September, 2013
Recorded: July, 2007
Booklet: 36 page
• Performances by distinguished Australian Baroque violinist, Stanley Ritchie
• Complete performances of Bach’s three Sonatas and Three Partitas for solo violin, part of the violinist’s core
repertoire, presented by an expert in Bach performance.
• Performed on an original Baroque violin in its original condition by Jacob Stainer, c. 1670, one of whose
instruments was in Bach’s own collection.
• Booklet text presented in English, German, French and Italian.
• Booklet essay by Stanley Ritchie, also presented in four languages.

Gramophone, International Record Review, BBC Music Magazine, Classical Net, Musicweb, The Boston Musical Intelligencer,
The Whole Note, American Record Guide, The American Organist, Fanfare Magazine

J.S. Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, BWV1001 – 1006 was last modified: September 19th, 2021 by moadmin