Giovanni Felice Sances – Arie a voce sola, Venice, 1636 – Digital Download

$8.99 (Digital Download)

Musica Omnia presents the première recording of Giovanni Felice Sances’ complete arias for solo voice from 1636, performed here by Bud Roach as they would have been commonly heard in the 17th century: with the singer accompanying himself on the Baroque guitar. Trained in Rome at the Collegium Germanicum, Sances found success in Venice, where much of his secular music was written. The height of his fame there was the publication by Vincenti of his fourth book of cantatas, arias, canzonettas, and ariettas. As was usual for such collections, it includes a chart for “alfabeto” notation for the strummed Spanish guitar.

Composer: Giovanni Felice Sances

Performing artists: Bud Roach

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »


Release date: October 15, 2014

SKU: mo0611d UPC: 801890061122
Categories: , , , ,


Track Listing:

1 Chiesi un bacio
2 Fuggi, fuggi, mio cor
3 Chi non sa cosa sia Amor
4 Che pietà sperar si può
5 O perduti diletti
6 Già che non son Adone
7 Occhi, occhi miei cari
8 Se mille facelle
9 Dove n’andrò
10 Lagrime tutte amare
11 Rapitemi, feritemi
12 Superbetta, la mia vita
13 Pietosi, allontanatevi
14 Amanti, Amor è un gioco
15 S’a sospir finti
16 Il mio cocente ardore
17 Accenti queruli

Giovanni Felice Sances
Arie a voce sola

Bud Roach, Tenor and Baroque Guitar

Configuration: Digital Download (320 kbps MP3)
Available: November 1st, 2014
Recorded: August/September, 2013
Booklet: 28 Page
• World première recording of the complete arias from 1636 of Giovanni Felice Sances (1600 – 1679).
• Unique and vibrant performances by Canadian tenor, Bud Roach, who presents this music as it was often performed
in the 17th century: accompanied by the singer on the Baroque guitar, playing from the “alfabeto” notation included
in the 1636 publication.
• Extensive accompanying booklet notes by performer Bud Roach describing the repertoire and the various issues of
historical context and performance practice.
• Complete texts and translations of all 17 arias included in the accompanying 28-page booklet.

Giovanni Felice Sances – Arie a voce sola, Venice, 1636 – Digital Download was last modified: April 1st, 2015 by Burke Thompson