Bach & Sons at the organ

$13.99 (Single CD in Digipak)

Johann Sebastian Bach trained his many sons to be the finest organists of their time, yet hardly any organ music survives from them. Through transcription, improvisation, and other acts of imaginative re-creation this recording reunites Bach and his boys for a program that recaptures the virtuosic panache, commanding counterpoint, impressive poise, and exuberant excess of this first family of the organ. Played by award-winning Bach scholar and organist David Yearsley on Cornell University’s reconstruction of a Berlin organ from 1706 known to at least one of the Bach sons, this program explores new dimensions not only of Johann Sebastian’s towering achievement but also of the kinds of now-lost contributions the next Bach generation might have made to their family instrument’s long and glorious history.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Performing artists: David Yearsley

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »


Release date: February 1, 2017

575 in stock

SKU: mo0609 UPC: 801890060927
Categories: ,


Track Listing:

1 J. S. Bach: Prelude in C Major, BWV 547/i
2 J. C. F. Bach: Romanza (Concerto Grosso in E-flat Major BR C 43/ii)
3 D. Yearsley: Improvisation: Fugue on a Theme by J. C. F. Bach
4 C. P. E. Bach: Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (after J. S. Bach: BWV 639)
5 C. P. E. Bach: Fantasia and Fugue in C Minor, Wq. 119/65’16
6 J. S. Bach: Concerto in D Minor after Vivaldi, mvt. 1, BWV 596 [Allegro]-Grave-Fuga
7 W. F. Bach: Sinfonia in D Minor, Fk. 65 Adagio – Allegro e forte
8 J. C. Bach: Andantino in C Major, YB 48
9 J. S. Bach: Musical Offering, BWV 1079: Trio Sonata ii: Allegro
10 J. S. Bach: Fugue in C Major, BWV 547/ii

Bach & SonS at the organ
Works of: Johann Sebastian, Wilhelm Friedemann, Carl Philipp Emanuel,
Johann Christoph Friedrich, and Johann Christian Bach

David Yearsley, organ

Configuration: Single CD in Digipak
Available: February, 2017
Recorded: July, 2012, August 2012
Booklet: 16 page
• New CD by distinguished organist, scholar and author, David Yearsley.
• Recorded on the distinguished Munetaka organ, Anabel Taylor Hall, Cornell
University, a copy of a Berlin organ from 1706
• Program features transcriptions of works by Bach’s sons as well as the Trio Sonata from
Bach’s Musical Offering, BWV 1079 and the Prelude & Fugue in C major, BWV 547.
• Recorded by Joel Gordon.

Bach & Sons at the organ was last modified: March 10th, 2021 by Burke Thompson