Bach: Sonatas for Violin & Harpsichord, BWV 1014-1019

$17.99 (2+BTN*)

One of the finest versions of these six incomparable works, with proper balance between violin and harpsichord restored for the first time on CD. Bach’s six sonatas for violin and harpsichord represent the culmination of the genre of the
baroque trio sonata. Fifty years after they were composed, Bach’s son, Carl Philipp Emanuel, praised these works as “unsurpassable.” These performances, using instruments Bach himself would have recognised, reaffirm C.P.E. Bach’s assessment for the 21st-century listener.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach Johann Sebastian Bach

Performing artists: Emlyn Ngai Peter Watchorn

Sample track:

Product description (PDF) »

Reviews: Strad

Release date: July 15, 2001

564 in stock

SKU: mo0112 UPC: 801890011226
Categories: , ,


Track Listing:

CD 1
Sonata in b minor, BWV 1014
1 Adagio
2 Allegro
3 Andante
4 Allegro

Sonata in A major, BWV 1015
5 (Dolce)
6 Allegro
7 Andante un poco
8 Presto

Sonata in E major, BWV 1016
9 Adagio
10 Allegro
11 Adagio ma non tanto
12 Allegro

CD 2
Sonata in c minor, BWV 1017
1 Largo
2 Allegro
3 Adagio
4 Allegro

Sonata in f minor, BWV 1018
5 (adagio)
6 Allegro
7 Adagio
8 Vivace

Sonata in G major, BWV 1019
9 Allegro
10 Largo
11 Allegro: Cembalo solo
12 Adagio
13 Allegro
14 Cantabile, ma un poco Adagio, BWV 1019a

Johann Sebastian Bach: Six sonatas for violin and harpsichord, BWV 1014–1019

Emlyn Ngai, baroque violin
Peter Watchorn, harpsichord

Configuration: 2 CD set
Available: July 2010
Recorded: Dec. 2000 & Mar. 2001
Booklet: 24-page.
• One of North America’s leading baroque violinists, winner of 1995 Locatelli competition in Amsterdam.
• Harpsichordist is winner of prestigious Erwin Bodky Award.
• Use of magnificent German-style harpsichord
• Superb recording, production and packaging

Bach: Sonatas for Violin & Harpsichord, BWV 1014-1019 was last modified: September 16th, 2021 by moadmin